View the Leadership Council Forum

EarthCube Leadership Council - November 2016

The Leadership Council is the elected voice of the EarthCube community, setting the strategic direction for EarthCube and making decisions critical to its success, with input from the community and in consultation with NSF.

~Key Documents~
Several individual document links can be found to the right under "Group Specific Links"

The Leadership Council is elected voice of the EarthCube Community, setting the strategic direction for EarthCube and making decisions critical to the success of EarthCube. The Leadership Council will conduct its business at the EarthCube All Hands Meeting, another face-to-face meeting, and a minimum of one virtual meeting in each of the remaining ten calendar months. It is anticipated that most Leadership Council decisions will be achieved through dialogue and consensus. Except where other wise specified, if a vote is called, a two-thirds majority of all LeadershipCouncil voting members is required to approve the measure.

Mindful of the potential for either expansion or contraction as circumstances dictate, the nucleus of the Leadership Council comprises ten elected, voting members: the Chair; one representative each from the Council for Data Facilities, the Science Standing Committee, the Technology and Architecture Standing Committee, the Engagement Team and the Liaison Team; and four at-large members, representative of the constituencies of the National Science Foundation Directorate for Geosciences. The EarthCube Office Principal Investigator, or their designated representative, serves as a non-voting member of the Leadership Council, as does the newly-elected Leadership Council Chair. The preceding Chair and a representative from the National Science Foundation may also participate as non-voting members of the Leadership Council.

To fulfill this role, the Leadership Council will:

  • Ensure consistency and transparency in policies, procedures, and decision-making, including providing multiple ways for people to participate in the process of making decisions, and communicating outcomes of decisions to the broad EarthCube community.
  • Enable communication between governance organizational units to close gaps, eliminate duplication, and build synergies.
  • Establish and manage Standing Committees and Working Groups as needed to perform critical functions.
  • Foster business models to sustain and maintain the infrastructure of EarthCube.
  • Establish, facilitate, and maintain policies and procedures.
  • Provide for public dispute resolution and proactive management of risk and conflicts of interest.
  • Act as the single point of communication for coordinating with and making recommendations to the NSF and other funding agencies on behalf of EarthCube.

Current Leadership Council Members

Tim Ahern
Council of Data Facilities Representative
July 2016 - July 2018

Kerstin Lehnert
Columbia University
December 2015 - May 2018

Janet Fredericks
Member, At-Large
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
June 2016 - May 2018

Scott Peckham
Member, At-Large

University of Colorado
June 2016 - May 2018
Simon Goring
Engagement Team Representative
University of Wisconsin, Madison
June 2016 - May 2018
Mohan Ramamurthy, ex officio
Project Director, EarthCube Science Support Office (ESSO)
​May 2016 - April 2019
Sara Graves
Liaison Team Representative
University of Alabama Huntsville
​June 2017 - May 2019

Ken Rubin
Science Committee Representative
University of Hawai'i, Manoa
June 2016 - May 2018
(Chair June 2018- December 2019)

Anna Kelbert
Member, At-Large
Oregon State University
​June 2017 - May 2019

D. Sarah Stamps
Member, At-Large
Virginia Tech
​June 2017 - May 2019

Rebecca Koskela
Technology and Architecture Committee Representative
Executive Director, DataONE
​November 2016 - May 2018